You air that serves me with breath to speak!
You objects that call from the diffusion my meanings and give them shape!
You light that wraps me and all things in delicate equable showers!
You paths worn in the irregular hollows by the roadsides!
I believe you are latent with unseen existences, you are so dear to me.

– Walt Whitman, excerpt from Song of the Open Road

The book I’m reading at the moment is called Paper Towns by John Green, one of the most clever writers I think I’ve ever read. And I’ve read quite a lot. Perhaps John Steinbeck is the only other author I know of, in my opinion, who can have such an amazing grasp on his characters and makes them so real that you’re disappointed when the book ends because you realize it wasn’t actual reality.

In this book, Paper Towns, there is a whole lot of reference to Whitman. I happen to have a random unabridged copy of  random Walt Whitman poems sitting on my much to organized bookshelf featuring my old high school required reading.
So I flipped through it a bit and my eyes feel upon Song of the Open Road among all the rest of his most popular works. I’m glad I chose it, because, after reading the whole thing through (and it’s kind of lengthy), I felt so inspired by his words. I then proceeded to turn on some old Bob Dylan which brought on more inspiration and good feelings.

I can now say that I’m excited to explore the open road of my life. More so than I was before, anyway.

Song of the day: “Desolation Row” by Bob Dylan.
Film of the day: Catch Me If You Can (2002), starring Tom Hanks and Leonardo DiCaprio.

paper towns

Paper Towns by John Green

