I worked at a flu clinic at the World Senior Games today at the Dixie Center here in St. George, UT, where the SWG are held every year. I came across some gems.

There are several types of older folks.
1) The Grumpies. They just kind of hate everyone and have bad attitudes, but you still respect them deep on the inside, because…well, they’re old, and are probably really okay on the inside. But they sure as hell don’t show it.

2) The I-Wish-They-Were-My-Grandparents. The awesome, fun lovin’, witty and funny old folks. My personal favorites. They like to joke about everything and see the good in anything, including, but not limited to, joking about swine flu and bad vaccinations.

3) The Old Ones Who Wish They Weren’t So Old. Self explanatory. But in case it’s not, these are the ones that poke fun at the other ones who are getting a bit…alzheimersy, for the lack of a better word. I think they do it to cover up the fear of themselves maybe creeping towards that direction themselves. Or maybe they just don’t like old people, therefore not liking themselves quite as much as they once did.

Anyway, these were the sorts of people I came across today. It was a long 5 hours.

 

Song of the day: White Room by Cream. This song always reminds me of Scott Deiro and myself parked in the VC parking lot by the bungalow playing imaginary guitars and drums, maybe not for hours, but for a good amount of time that was worth every second.
Movie of the day: Summer Magic (1963), starring Hayley Mills and Burl Ives. One of my most favorite Disney non-animated classics.

 

I’ve decided to apply to Watkins College of Art, Design and Film in Nashville, Tennessee. I feel like it’s the right thing to do. We’ll see where it goes from there. I still have a while before anything happens though, so we’ll see..

 

I need to go to sleep.
Later Days.

